New Nevada Law Cracks Down on Child Prostitution

Posted: June 26, 2009 02:31 PM PDT
Kellene Stockwell
Channel 2 News

Dettrea King speaks with the wisdom of the streets and she’s not even old enough to drink. At 18 and a half, Dettrea lived a lifetime of hurt. “I started to use drugs at a young age. I was sexually abused. I ended up selling my body for drugs and for money.”

All of that was before her 13th birthday.

Five years of prostitution led her to a six month juvenile jail sentence in Caliente starting June of 2008. Then there was three months of a juvenile hall in Clark County and finally one month of rehab and release April 9th.

Dettrea says she met her first pimp walking to 7-11 for a slurpee and her homelife opened the door for him. “I believe it was the drugs. Maybe a lack of a father figure around to be there for me; I never had my dad around.”

He has been in prison most of her life. Dettrea says she feels like she made more money as a prostitute because she was underage. “A lot of the guys would say they have sex with their kids and stuff like that. It’s like I had to sit there and listen to it because that was my job.”

Also, she knew she would get beaten if she did not come back to her pimp with the money.

Dettrea says it took a 6×6 cell and a book about someone else in her position to turn her life around. “You kind of have to reprogram your whole brain. That’s all I’ve known my whole life. I never, I had not been to school in so long.”

She thinks Nevada’s new law is one step. Assemblyman John Hambrick wrote it and says going to jail is the cost pimps expect for business. “When they get out they have got their money; they got their cars; they got their boats. This goes after their money, goes after their assets.”

By going after them, Hambrick hopes to prevent Dettrea’s lost childhood repeated by other kids.

The law toughens the punishment for people convicted of prostitution or trafficking children goes into effect October 1st.

Original on KTVN

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

